Baton Rouge, Louisiana

HomeLouisianaBaton Rouge

Email Chrissie Cole Chrissie Cole on LinkedIn Chrissie Cole on Facebook
Chrissie Cole
Chrissie Cole
Contributor •

Seatbelt Fines May Double In Louisiana

Comments Off

A measure that would double fines for driving without a seatbelt is being considered by a House Committee in Louisiana.

As of now, the fine for driving without a seatbelt is $25 for the first offense, including court costs. Under the new bill that is being considered, the fine would double to $50 for first time offenders and $100 after that.

About 75 percent of the state’s drivers and front seat passengers use seatbelts. The Legislature last year required all occupants of a vehicle to wear seat belts but there were no figures given on compliance with the new law.

While sixty-five percent of traffic deaths in Louisiana last year were the direct result of people not wearing a seat belt, according to law enforcement officials.